How NovuBrain+ Compares

NovuBrain+ contains three compounds that are also sold as single-ingredient bottles — so the comparison is not this or that, but a known amount against one routine.

Quick answer

NovuBrain+ contains phosphatidylserine, DHA omega-3 and huperzine A, each also sold on its own. Bought separately, you can match the amounts the research used, such as 100 to 300 mg of phosphatidylserine. Bought together, you get all three plus bacopa in two caffeine-free capsules and a one-time purchase, at amounts the sales page does not publish.

Most comparisons in this category set one formula against another. This one is more useful, because of a fact from the review page: NovuBrain+ contains three compounds that are also sold as single-ingredient bottles — phosphatidylserine, fish oil or DHA, and huperzine A.

If you have already bought one of those, you are exactly who this page is for. The question is not which is stronger. It is a real trade-off between two ways of getting the same compounds, and the honest answer depends on how you actually take supplements.

The Trade-Off, Stated Plainly

Buy them separately and you control the amounts. You can pick a phosphatidylserine capsule at 100 or 300 mg and know it sits inside the range the trials used. You can choose a fish oil that states its DHA on the label. You know exactly what you are taking, and in what quantity.

Buy them together and you get one bottle, one routine — two capsules with breakfast — and one refund window. You also get bacopa, L-glutamine, DMAE and vitamin B12 alongside, without adding another bottle. What you give up is the arithmetic: the sales page publishes no amounts, so you cannot line NovuBrain+ up against any trial.

Both are reasonable. Neither is the clever choice. Which suits you comes down to a question almost nobody asks honestly: are you more likely to keep up with three bottles, or with one? The evidence in this category needs weeks to months of consistency, and a routine you keep beats a better-specified one you stop.

What The Research Used

Before the table, the numbers that matter, because they are what a single-ingredient bottle lets you match.

Comparison of the amounts used in published human research with what the NovuBrain+ sales page publishes. Bacopa trials used 300 mg a day for 8 to 12 weeks. Phosphatidylserine trials used 100 to 300 mg a day for 6 weeks to 6 months. The largest omega-3 trial in older adults used 840 mg of EPA and DHA a day for 2 to 3 years. Huperzine A amounts vary across trials. For all four, the amount in NovuBrain+ is not stated.
The amounts the published human research used, next to what the NovuBrain+ sales page publishes.

The Comparison

Read across a row rather than down a column. There is no score here and no order of merit — each cell describes what that option covers.

CriteriaNovuBrain+Phosphatidyl­serine on its ownFish oil or DHA on its ownHuperzine A on its own
NovuBrain+ bottle
What you getSeven compounds, including all three of the othersOne compoundOmega-3 fatty acids, usually DHA with EPAOne compound
Amount printedNot stated on the sales pageYes, as standardYes, as standardYes, as standard
What the research usedCannot be checked from the sales page100 to 300 mg a day, 6 weeks to 6 months840 mg EPA and DHA a day, 2 to 3 years, in the largest trial in older adultsVaries across trials
Strength of the evidenceInherited from its ingredients, not tested as a formulaModest, in older adults with cognitive declineMixed, and it depends on who was studiedAn active compound; reviewers note the trials are of low quality
Daily routineTwo capsules with breakfastUsually one or more capsulesUsually one or more softgelsUsually one capsule
CaffeineNone, by the maker’s descriptionNoneNoneNone
How it is soldOne-time packs, 60-day guaranteeVaries by sellerVaries by sellerVaries by seller
Where to buyOfficial site →Sold everywhereSold everywhereSold everywhere

Prices are the maker's list price at the time of writing and change without notice. Every link goes through our own redirect and lands on the maker's official site.

If you take a prescription, ask your prescriber before combining any of these with it. Huperzine A and fish oil are the two worth naming specifically, and that applies whether you take them in NovuBrain+ or separately.

What NovuBrain+ Brings That Three Bottles Do Not

If the combination is what you want, see NovuBrain+

Which One Fits Which Situation

See NovuBrain+ on the official site

Frequently asked

If NovuBrain+ contains phosphatidylserine and DHA, why not just buy those separately?

That is the real trade-off. Buying them separately lets you match the amounts the research used — phosphatidylserine trials used 100 to 300 mg a day. Buying them in NovuBrain+ gives you both, plus bacopa and huperzine A, in two capsules a day, at amounts the sales page does not publish. Which matters more depends on whether you would rather check the arithmetic or keep one routine.

Is a combination better than a single ingredient?

That is not established, here or generally. There is no published trial on this combination, so the honest position is that a blend is a different design rather than a stronger one. What it does give you is one routine instead of several, and adherence is the quiet variable in a category where the evidence needs weeks to months.

Is huperzine A safe to take on its own?

It is a pharmacologically active compound: it slows the breakdown of acetylcholine, the same way some prescription memory medicines work. A 2025 review describes it as generally well tolerated at usual amounts, reports nausea, diarrhea and muscle cramps when too much is taken, and advises using it with professional guidance. That applies whether you take it on its own or in a blend.

Can I take any of these with prescription medication?

Ask your prescriber before combining. Huperzine A is the one to name first: Memorial Sloan Kettering lists interactions with donepezil, galantamine and rivastigmine, with beta-blockers and calcium channel blockers, and with medicines that block dopamine. Fish oil and DHA are worth raising if you take warfarin or another blood thinner. That applies whether you take them in NovuBrain+ or separately.

References

  1. Effect of phosphatidylserine on cognitive function in the elderly: a systematic review and meta-analysis — 2022
  2. Marine n-3 fatty acids and cognitive change among older adults in the VITAL randomized trial — Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Translational Research & Clinical Interventions — 2022
  3. Effects of vitamins and polyunsaturated fatty acids on cognitive function in older adults with mild cognitive impairment: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials — European Journal of Nutrition — 2024
  4. Huperzia serrata — About Herbs, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — 2022
  5. Huperzine A: a natural acetylcholinesterase inhibitor with multifunctional neuroprotective effects — Beni-Suef University Journal of Basic and Applied Sciences — 2025

About the author

Chris Andrade — writes for The Supplement Hub, covering supplement formulas across health categories with a focus on what a product label actually tells the reader. Her work centers on three questions: which ingredients and amounts a label discloses, which ones it leaves out, and how a formula fits alongside the medications and supplements someone is already taking. Every review she writes is checked by The Supplement Hub editorial team against the standards published in our editorial policy before it goes live.

Disclosure

All content is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Each product covered is a dietary supplement, not a prescription drug, and statements about it have not been evaluated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Results vary with individual health status, consistency of use, and lifestyle. This page contains affiliate links — if you buy through them we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. Read our disclosure and our editorial policy.